## **College of the Marshall Islands**

## Friday 28 August 2020, 11:10 AM - 12:00 PM

# Faculty Senate - Minutes of Meeting

Chair: Moarieta Ientaake, FS President

Deputy Chair: Dr. Michael Young, FS Vice-President

Minute taker: Ana Bulavakarua – FS Secretary and Treasurer

Quorum: reached; 33 present

### 1. Call to Order

a. Welcome to all members

- b. A special welcome to Marson Ralpho from the Education Department who joins us this semester. A special welcome too to Patricia Owens.
- c. Agenda is adopted.

## 2. Special/Urgent Business

- a. Nomination and Vote of new Faculty Senate Executive Officers and Faculty Representatives in the various committees (Fall 2020 Fall 2021). Officers serve for one academic year.
  - i. President Moarieta Ientaake wishes not to continue;
    - Nominations: Michael Young but rescinded his nomination; Adedayo Ogunmokun willing to serve; Andrea Hazzard but declined nomination
    - Final nomination: Adedayo Ogunmokun, unanimously voted in as the President of the Faculty Senate
  - ii. Vice-President Michael Young rescinded his nomination
    - Nominations: Waisiki Baleikorocau but declined nomination; Alvin Page willing to serve
    - Alvin Page was unanimously voted in as Vice-President
  - iii. Secretary/Treasurer -
    - Ana Bulavakarua wishes not to continue
    - Alexander Velasquez nominated, unanimously voted in as Secretary/Treasurer
  - iv. HR Committee -
    - Meitaka Kendall-Lekka is willing to continue; Marson Ralpho nominated. Both were unanimously voted in. Our gratitude goes to Nik Willson for stepping in when Jordan Prokosch had left
  - v. Enrollment and Management(?) Committee Jennifer Seru and Oyinade Ogunmokun are willing to continue and were unanimously voted in. Jennifer reminded the Senate that the EMC's by-laws state that the representatives have to be department chairs, one of them has to be the Dev Ed Chair.
  - vi. Plant and Facilities: Manase Manase is willing to continue; Waisiki Baleikorocau wishes to step down; Dako Nating was nominated. Manase and Dako were unanimously voted in.
  - vii. IT Committee: Edward Alfonso is willing to continue; Curtis Vila was nominated. Both were unanimously voted in.
  - viii. Library Committee: Luciana Castano and Mixon Jonas willing to continue; no further nominations. Both were unanimously voted in.
  - ix. EC Rep: Desmond Doulatram willing to continue. No other nominations. Desmond was unanimously voted in.
  - x. Student Conduct Board: Morgan Cameron (resigned); Kendall Romany nominated and voted in.
  - xi. IEC: Rosina Korean is willing to continue. No other nominations. Rosina was unanimously voted in.

#### 6. Announcements:

- a. Request for information on Child Care initiative A committee is currently working on the possibility of establishing a Child Care Centre at CMI and the committee is seeking:
  - i. information ref guidelines of establishing such a Centre and
  - ii. records of emails from students requesting instructors if they can bring their child to class because they did not have a babysitter available during their class times.
  - iii. Email Rosie Koroi if you have such information.
- b. Access to have CMI computer labs and the Library open to students during the weekend: A motion to make a request to the Administration and to take to the EC for the computer labs and the library to be opened during the weekends, especially during this Fall 2020 semester, as there are not enough computers available in the classrooms. The number of students in some classes far exceed the number of working computers in those classrooms.
- c. Light Refreshments in the next Faculty Senate: Please bring something (food/beverage) to share in the next Faculty Senate meeting to mark the beginning of a new academic year, celebrate the election of the new Faculty Senate Executive Officers and the Faculty representatives to the various committees, and welcome our new Faculty members. Faculty Senate has \$20 and this can be used to purchase some food/drinks too.
- 9. The meeting was adjourned.